Future of Tech Commission

CO-CHAIRS          |          TOWN HALLS          |          NEWS

The Future of Tech Commission is an independent and bipartisan working group of civic leaders developing a comprehensive, inclusive tech policy agenda for the nation.

ABOUT

The impact of the coronavirus pandemic has reminded American families of the enormous possibilities and advantages of technology for the future. We’ve also experienced the hazards of technology, absent a coordinated Federal effort to harness its potential.


In response to discussions with the White House and Federal Communications Commission, the Future of Tech Commission will convene the American public, leaders, and experts from across sectors to inform an inclusive tech policy agenda for the nation and a blueprint of public-private solutions for action at the local, state, and federal levels.


The Commission aims to generate input on the most urgent tech policy challenges and opportunities facing America’s economy and democracy. We hope you’ll join us.

A Blueprint for U.S. Technology Policy

The Commission expects to release a comprehensive blueprint and clear call to action to the public and for the nation.

CO-CHAIRS

Margaret Spellings

Margaret Spellings is president and CEO of Texas 2036, a long-term, data-driven organization working to secure Texas’ prosperity through the state’s bicentennial. Her extensive leadership in education and government include serving as president of the University of North Carolina System and president of the George W. Bush Presidential Center, as well as U.S. secretary of education and White House chief domestic policy advisor for President George W. Bush. 

Deval L. Patrick

Deval L. Patrick is a business and civil rights attorney, a former senior executive in two Fortune 50 companies, an impact investing entrepreneur, and the former two-term Governor of Massachusetts. He is the author of two books, A Reason to Believe: Lessons from an Improbable Life and Faith in the Dream: A Call to the Nation to Reclaim American Values, a devoted spouse of 36 years to Diane, a lover of Labs, and a beekeeper.

James P. Steyer

James Steyer is the founder and CEO of Common Sense, the nation's leading independent nonprofit organization dedicated to creating a powerful voice for kids and families in the 21st century. He is also the author of his latest book Which Side of History: How Technology is Reshaping Democracy and Our Lives (2020), an award-winning consulting professor at Stanford University, and the dad of four great kids. 

TOWN HALLS

America’s tech policy agenda should represent every corner of America. Join the Commission for a series of virtual town hall events across rural and urban communities to gather input from governors and policymakers, community leaders, civil society groups, academics, industry experts, and business leaders and entrepreneurs.


Stay tuned to join the conversation and sign up for Town Hall events.


TITLE: Massachusetts Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Creating Safe, Healthy Online Spaces for All Americans

DATE: Tuesday, May 18, 2021

TIME: 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT

Watch the video here


TITLE: Texas Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Digital Access for All, and Proliferating Technological Innovation in Education and Workforce

DATE: Wednesday, May 26th, 2021

TIME: 9:30 a.m. CT/7:30 a.m. PT 

Watch the video here


TITLE: Northern California Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Creating Safe, Healthy Online Spaces for All Americans

DATE: Wednesday, June 2, 2021

TIME: 12 p.m. PT/3 p.m. ET

Watch the video here


TITLE: Southern California Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Creating Safe, Healthy Online Spaces for All Americans

DATE: Wednesday, June 9, 2021

TIME: 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET

Watch the video here


TITLE: Connecticut Future of Tech Commission Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Advancing Innovations in Education

DATE: Tuesday, June 22, 2021

TIME: 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET

Watch the video here


TITLE: Indiana Future of Tech Commission Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Digital Access and Workforce Development in Rural and Agricultural Communities

DATE: Wednesday, June 23, 2021

TIME: 12-2 p.m. PT/3-5 p.m. ET

Watch the video here


TITLE: North Carolina Future of Tech Commission Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Leveraging Technology to Accelerate Innovation in Health Systems

DATE: Tuesday, June 29, 2021

TIME: 11:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. ET

Watch the video here


TITLE: Florida Future of Tech Commission Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Advancing Innovations in Tech Education and Talent Development

DATE: Wednesday, July 7, 2021

TIME: 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET 

Watch the video here


TITLE: Arizona Future of Tech Commission Town Hall: A Public Discussion on Digital Equity, Access, and Tech Innovation for Workforce

DATE: Thursday, July 8, 2021

TIME: 10 a.m. MT/1 p.m. ET

Watch the video here